Soumeylou Boubèye Maïga (French pronunciation: ​[sumelu bubɛj maiga]; born 8 June 1954)[1][2] is a Malian politician and the Prime Minister of Mali since 31 December 2017. The leader of the Alliance for Solidarity in Mali, he previously served in the government of Mali as Minister of Foreign Affairs under President Amadou Toumani Touré from 5 April 2011[3] until the March 2012 coup d’état. Later he was Minister of Defense from 2013 to 2014 and was Secretary-General of the Presidency from 2016 to 2017.

As First Vice-President of ADEMA-PASJ, Maïga opposed the party’s decision to support President Amadou Toumani Touré’s bid for re-election in the April 2007 presidential election, and he was consequently expelled from the party.[4]

Along with several other ministers, he was arrested during the coup when rebel soldiers stormed the presidential palace on 22 March 2012.[5] On 25 March, he began a hunger strike along with 13 other arrested officials to protest his detention.[6]

After Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta won the 2013 presidential election, Maïga was appointed to the government as Minister of Defense on 8 September 2013.[7] He was replaced by Ba N’Dao following the army’s defeat at the hands of Tuareg rebels in Kidal in May 2014. Although some blamed him for the defeat, others believed he was being used as a scapegoat.[8]

On 29 August 2016, he was appointed as Secretary-General of the Presidency with the rank of minister.[9]